The KickStart Award Program helps early-stage companies meet commercial milestones either on the technical side (prototype development, animal studies) or on the business side (regulatory pathway, freedom to operate).

Requests for proposals (RFAs) are solicited on a quarterly basis from faculty founders. The awards are in the $25,000 to $50,000 range depending the on the company’s needs.

The program also provides funding and access to internal and external business experts to assist faculty with the commercial translation of concepts for novel therapeutic small molecules, biologics, diagnostics, devices or digital health. Applicants are encouraged to reach out to KickStart prior to submission to ensure the funding opportunity objectives and solicitation are aligned. Please email Tim Martin for more information.

Application Submission

  • Applications are accepted only through a web-based application system (see RFA).
  • Applications must be received by 5 p.m. on the due date unless it falls on a weekend. Otherwise, the application is due by 5 p.m. the next business day.
  • For eligibility and important information regarding the application process, please see the RFA.
  • Deadline dates: January 31 and July 31 each year.
Seratta – Sai Chavala
Healthspan Dx – Natalia Mitin & Norman Sharpless
Spyryx – Robert Tarran
New Paradigm Therapeutics – David Clemmons
Enci Therapeutics – Nancy Demore
G-Zero – Norman Sharpless
X-In8 – Thomas Egan
Hibernaid – Laurence Katz
Synereca Pharmaceuticals – Scott Singleton
Capture Pharmaceuticals – Michael Jay & Russ Mumper
LotusBioEFx – David Gerber
Qualiber – Anil Goyal
Novolipid – Michael Hackett
Ironwood Material Science – Ching-Chang Ko & Jon Fjeld
NeuroGate – Harold Kohn
Augment Medical – Tim Martin
Cell Microsystems – Chris Sims
Rheomics – Ricky Spero